Napier 1914

<-- Return towards the photo gallery “ Ancestors of the automobile”
 
features:
 Six-cylinder motor in line,
2.7 liters
14 cv
 
NAPIER 1914
 
At the beginning of the century, Montague NAPIER was known for the construction of precision engineering, Napier modified cycles, motorcycles and automobiles, then undertook to manufacture whole cars.
These cars were remarkably well built and of a reliable functioning.
 
The Napier was the most famous English car on the market before the apotheosis of Rolls Royce.
 
The famous race Gordon Bennet won in 1902, made the brand worldwide famous.
At the end of the 1st World War, the brand Napier will specialized even more in the production of engines for planes. The Great War had indeed made it possible to the company to make a name for itself in the sky of England.
 
The NAPIER T 78 from 1914 of the Collection
 
Intended to compete with the ROLLS ROYCE Silver Ghost.  The Napier T 78 was built in London in 1914, his frame motorized by a 6 cylinder in line, 6.2 liters of 40 HP was fitted with body by Cunard, which carried out this very rare and very elegant model of half-compartment transformable driver, hoods flexible, electric starter and headlights.
 
For the record “the color tone of green paint” Napier was used as reference to the racing cars driven by British pilots in international competitions: The famous British Racing Green.
 
The brand Napier disappeared definitively in 1925.

<-- Return towards the photo gallery

Napier 1914

There is no translation available.

<-- Retour vers la galerie des photos "Les ancêtres de l’automobile"

Caractéristiques :

Moteur 6 cylindres en ligne,
2.7 litres
14 cv

NAPIER  1914

Au début du siècle, Montague NAPIER était connu pour la construction mécanique de précision, Napier modifia des cycles, motocyclettes et automobiles, puis  entreprit de fabriquer des voitures entières. Ces voitures furent remarquablement bien construites et d’un fonctionnement sûr.
La Napier fut la plus célèbre voiture anglaise sur le marché avant l’apothéose de la ROLLS ROYCE.
La fameuse course Gordon Bennet gagnée en 1902, rendit la marque célèbre dans le monde entier. A la  fin de la 1ère guerre mondiale, la marque Napier se spécialisa encore d’avantage dans la production de moteurs d’avions. La grande guerre avait en effet permit à la société de se faire un nom dans le ciel de l’Angleterre.

La NAPIER T 78 de 1914  de la Collection

Destinée à concurrencer la ROLLS ROYCE Silver Ghost. La Napier T 78 a été construite à Londres en 1914, son châssis motorisé par un 6 cylindres en ligne, 6.2 litres de 40 HP fût carrossé par Cunard, qui réalisa ce très rare et très élégant exemplaire de coupé chauffeur transformable, capote souple, démarreur et phares électriques.
A noter pour la petite histoire que « la teinte de peinture verte » Napier a servi de référence aux voitures de courses pilotées par des coureurs britanniques dans les compétitions internationales : le fameux British Racing Green.
La marque Napier disparut définitivement en 1925.


<-- Retour vers la galerie des photos